Club Oxford Hockey
    Tillsonburg's Competitive NBC League

How to Get Started in Club O

Players can pick up registration forms from Oxford Source for Sports beside the Beer Store or  you can print off a form from the "Registration" page on this site. Complete the form and leave it along with a cheque for $150 payable to "Club Oxford Hockey" at the Source prior to September 30th.  The "Rookie Skate" for new players for 2018 will be held on Sunday September 30th at 7:15 on the Community Rink. Players should arrive at 6:30.  A draft will take place on Wednesday October 3rd and regular league play will begin on Wednesday October 10th.

How  We Operate

The league uses a draft system in which player-coaches are allowed to protect their goalie and three other players from the previous season.  There are two divisions, presently consisting of four teams in each. 

New players are required to attend the "Rookie Skate" so they can be evaluated by the coaches and drafted into the appropriate division. Not everyone gets drafted. The players who were full-time the previous season have a place in the league guaranteed, provided they meet the registration requirements. New players undrafted are placed on the Spare List and are called to fill in for players who are ill, injured, or working shifts.  Over the course of the season several players from the Spare List are placed on teams as full-time players to replace those who cannot continue.

Games are played on Sunday and Wednesday evenings. The league starts after the Thanksgiving weekend and finishes in April.

There is a registration fee which covers such items as the cost of new socks, pucks, sweater cleaning and replacement, photocopying, league insurance, team and individual awards and our year-end golf and meal. The game fee pays for ice rental, timekeeper, and referees. We pay by the game so if you have to miss due to illness, injury, family or work commitments a spare player can take your place and pay your game fee.  Players who do not get drafted will have their registration fee refunded.

A Bit of History

The Club Oxford Hockey League was started 1982 by Terry Peacock, Cam McKnight and Mathew Weber. In 1998 the league management was turned over to Kim Alexander. In 1999 we legalized the slapshot and allowed unlimited stick curve. In 2001 the traditional year-end banquet was changed to a golf and party day. If you didn't win at hockey maybe you could take home a prize for the longest drive !  In 2002 we adopted the "low-tolerance" hooking rule which added to the flow of the game and kept tempers under control. 2003 was  the year of the arena renovations and the beginning of new sweater styles. In 2004 we received a new sweater room that has artwork done by Karen Partlo on the doorway to show the Club Oxford logo. In 2005 we voted to remove the center line for 2-line passing and have gone to a "zero-tolerance" for hooking to open up the game a little more. Since 2006 we have been operating under the lead of Hockey Canada by placing a stricter emphasis on stick infractions and other tactics which impede a player's progress. For 2007 we have implemented a 3 on 3 sudden-death overtime to settle tie games.  In 2008 we reached our fundraising goal of $30 000 for the Arena Renovation Project.  Players should be proud of the fact that they have made a significant contribution to their community.
In 2009 we started a new project called "Hockey for Everyone". This campaign is designed to assist families by providing equipment, ice time and instruction, all at no cost. The program is for local boys and girls in grades 3 to 8 who are not enrolled in minor hockey.  This runs from January until the end of March.  Several of these kids continue on to play Spring League 3 on 3.

'A' Division Champions 2018 - Agrospray

Agrospray finished second in the regular season with 14 wins, 12 losses and a tie. They went on to defeat Verne's Carpet 3 games to 1 in a tough semi-final series before eliminating Re/Max 3 straight in the finals. Solid goaltending from Taylor Ostermaier and balanced scoring made this a true team effort. Congratulations to coaches Evan Chute and Jason Davis for keeping the team on track to success.

Front : Brandon Rohrer, Josh DeWachter, co-captains Evan Chute & Jason Davis, Jordan Bruckler, Kyle Jansen
Back : Aaron Phillips, Chris Koteles, Ryan VanKooten, Taylor Ostermaier, Sean Jansen, Travis Horvath, Steve Moylan,
Darrick French

 'B' Division Champions 2018 - Copper Mug

The Muggers struggled through the regular season with only 4 wins in 27 games. The team never lost heart and with encouragement from co-coaches JJ Harden and Dustin McElhinney they became a force in the playoffs. The oddsmakers only gave them a 1 in 50 chance but they proved them wrong by defeating the top-seeded My Realty in 5 games, then took second-place Airmount in 4.

Goaltender : Matt Keba
Front : Tyler Zylstra, Jordan Spitzke, Stephen DeBlaire
Middle : Zach Alton, JJ Harden, Blair Kersten, Patrick Dion, Josh Mulholland
Back : spare Keith Agnew, Don Nevill, Dustin McElhinney, spare Dave Mels, Ryan McCurdy
Absent : Brad Smale and Nic Thomsen